Press Releases and Notifications

Below is the most current news regarding BEK and new product/service announcements.

BEK Holds 62nd Annual Meeting

Posted 6/27/14 (Fri)

The 62nd Annual Meeting of the members of BEK Communications Cooperative was held on June 12, 2014, at the Kidder County Steele School gymnasium in Steele, N.D.

 The Presentation of Flags was performed by the Tappen American Legion Color Guard and the National Anthem was sung by the members under the leadership of Tim Davenport of the Bismarck-Mandan Civic Chorus. The Invocation was given by Pastor Trisha DeBoer of Bethlehem Evangelical Lutheran Church of Wing, N.D.

There were 358 qualified voters registered and 650 beef meals were served to the members, their families and to guests and friends attending the meeting. 

The election was done using electronic voting devices and the tellers were:
District I:  Becky Bernhardt of Wing.
District II:  Shirley Brusven of Steele.
District III:  Roberta Nagel of Linton.  Roberta was also the teller coordinator
There was no election in District IV.

Incumbent directors, Sanford Williams (District I), Doug Kalianoff (District II) and Kevin Bernhardt (District III) were re-elected to the Board of Directors.  The winners will serve three-year terms.  The voting results were reported as follows:

(Regan, Sterling, McKenzie, Wilton, Wing)
Sanford Williams, Wing (incumbent)                          44
Spoiled Ballots                                                             0
Total Ballots Cast                                                       44

(Pettibone, Tappen, Robinson, Steele, Tuttle)
Doug Kalianoff, Steele (incumbent)                           66
Spoiled Ballots                                                             0
Total Ballots Cast                                                       66

(Linton, Kintyre, Strasburg, Hazelton)  
Kevin Bernhardt, Linton (incumbent)                         62
Spoiled Ballots                                                             0
Total Ballots Cast                                                       62

(Lehr, Zeeland, Wishek, Napoleon)
There was no election held in District IV

Following the officers’ reports and election, President Brett Stroh asked for old business of which there was none.  He then asked for new business of which there was none.  The meeting was then adjourned and door prize drawings were held.

This year’s grand prize drawings began with prizes for the children.  The prizes and winners were:
Schwinn Tricycle – Abigail Schmidt
Schwinn 20” Bike – Michael Ryckman
Golf Club Set – Sophia Horner
Bat & Ball Set + $50 Target Gift Card – Drew Harr
32” HD TV – Brett Harr
iPod – Belle Bernhardt
Razor E200 Scooter – Blake Bernhardt
BEK Sports Bursting Duffel Bag – Chantel Bender
$250 Family Get Away Gift Package – Brody Hintz

Next were grand prize drawings for the adults.  The prizes and winners were:
Nikon Digital D3200 Camera – Randy Ohlhauser
16 GB iPad Air – Gladys Marquart
Nikon Digital Point & Shoot Camera – Gary Schoenhard
16 GB iPad Mini – Benjamin Vetter
iPod Touch – Joyce Hanson
Nikon Digital Point & Shoot Camera – Blaine Doppler
32” Sanyo LCD HGTV – Melvin Wohl
32” Sanyo LCD HGTV – James Rohrich
32” Onkyo Audio Soundbar – Mavis Wolf
32” Onkyo Audio Soundbar – Tracy Vetsch
The 4th of July Celebration Gift Package was won by Becky Bernhardt

Numerous other prizes were given away including nine beef bundle dinners from BEK, a Keurig Home Brewing System from Jon Jennings of Vistage; two flashlights, two blankets and a lap top back pack from NISC, Mandan; two $50 gift certificates from Farmers Union Insurance; four $50 Visa gift cards from Finley Engineering, Bismarck; four wind shirts from Border States Electric, Bismarck and a bar-b-que utensil and insulated bag from Ditch Witch of Mandan.

At the reorganization meeting following the annual membership meeting, the Board of Directors re-elected Brett Stroh to serve as President, Leo Meier as Vice President and William (Bill) Becker as Secretary/Treasurer.