Press Releases and Notifications

Below is the most current news regarding BEK and new product/service announcements.

BEK Holds 58th Annual Meeting

Posted 6/11/10 (Fri)

The 58th Annual Meeting of the members of BEK Communications Cooperative was held June 10, 2010, at the Kidder County  School – Steele Gymnasium in Steele, North Dakota. 

There were 485 qualified voters registered for the election and 891 beef meals served to the members, their families and to guests and friends attending the meeting. 

The election tellers were:
District I:  Lois Gordian, Beverly Gill and William Hansen, all of Wilton
District III:  Dorothy Nicklos, Suzie Jangula  and Irene Rohrich, all of Linton
District IV:  Rolland Sayler of Wishek, Herman Kauk of Wishek and Peggy Welder of Napoleon Meg Rath of Sterling was the teller coordinator.

Incumbent directors, Richard Hausauer and William Becker were re-elected to the Board of Directors and Vickie Martin was newly elected to represent District III.  The winners will serve three-year terms.  The voting results were reported as follows:



(Regan, Sterling, McKenzie, Wilton, Wing)

Richard Hausauer, Wilton (incumbent)                                    46
Dennis Benz, Moffit                                                                 17
Spoiled Ballots                                                                            1
Total Ballots Cast                                                                      64




(Pettibone, Tappen, Robinson, Steele, Tuttle)
No election held



(Linton, Kintyre, Strasburg, Hazelton)

Michael Wickenheiser, Linton (incumbent)                          59
Vickie Martin, Linton                                                            73
Spoiled Ballots                                                                        0
Total Ballots Cast                                                                132




(Lehr, Zeeland, Wishek, Napoleon)

William (Bill) Becker, Wishek (incumbent)                         80                          
Spoiled Ballots                                                                        3    
Total Ballots Cast                                                                  83



“On the Brink” entertained members prior to the meeting and also sang the National Anthem after the Presentation of Flags by the Steele AmVets Honor Guard.

During the 58th annual meeting, BEK recognized the cooperative’s original nine Board of Directors by having family members in attendance stand and be acknowledged.  In attendance was original board member Neil Beitelspacher who was presented with a plaque and a standing ovation for his efforts in the development of the cooperative.  Original BEK Board of Directors members were as follows:

District I:  Harold Williams, Wing; John Trygg, Baldwin; E.A. Schauer, Sterling
District II: President George Jackson, Dawson; Alfred Riskedahl, Braddock; Secretary/Treasurer Clifford Cleveland, Tuttle
District III: Vice President Adolph Feyereisen, Braddock; Neil Beitelspacher, Temvik; Alvin Stanley, Kintyre. 

This year’s grand prize drawings were for two 32” Flat Screen LCD TV’s, a desktop computer w/ monitor and a laptop computer.  The winners of the televisions were Robert Ziesch and Opal Rohde, both of Pettibone.  The winners of the computers were Donald Nagel of Hague and Lawrence (& Catherine) Lammert of Hazelton.

At the reorganization meeting following the annual membership meeting, the Board of Directors elected Doug Kalianoff to serve as President, Brett Stroh as Vice President and Sanford Williams as Secretary/Treasurer.